Skip to content

More Ornamental Grass Love

September 15, 2011

By John Markowski

This is the time of year when my ornamental grasses take a giant step forward and push the other shrubs and perennials out of the way. They are ready for the limelight and won’t let go until spring.

In a prior post I told you my goal is to convince you to jump on the OG bandwagon with me. Well, you are going to get more of the same today, so brace yourself. I thought about giving you all sorts of great detailed information but then remembered the power lies in the photos. If I can excite you with pictures, you can then Google “the deets”. So without further ado, I give you “Ornamental Grasses: A Love Story”:

Wine-red blooms on Miscanthus ‘Gracillimus’:

Pink blooms and red foliage on Panicum ‘Rotstrahlbusch’:

 

Pink plumes on Pennisetum ‘Karley Rose’:

 

Silver/gray shining foliage on Miscanthus ‘Morning Light’:

 

Glowing blooms on Calamagrostis ‘Karl Foerster’ in early evening:

 

Late season color from Panicum:

Blooms on Miscanthus cheer up this scene:

Bright foliage on Miscanthus ‘Variegatus’ gives a pop of color:

 

If you want to read more about my gardening successes and failures, check out the “About” link at the top of this page.

Cheers

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 6:13 am

    Nice collection. All some of my favorites.

Leave a comment