Skip to content

A New Way to Show Your Jersey Pride

April 4, 2011

By Pat Tanner

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that I take every opportunity to show my Jersey-girl pride by promoting all that is good, fun, and interesting about the Garden State’s food and dining scene.

My latest way to show that pride came in the form of a Christmas gift from one of my daughters: A beautiful wooden cutting board in the shape of New Jersey, with a small heart cut out where the town I live in falls. It’s too nice, in my opinion, for chopping vegetables on, so I reserve it – I think quite fittingly – for serving cheeses from my favorite NJ creameries. These include Bobolink, Cherry Valley, and Valley Shepherd, all of which you are already familiar with if you shop at farmers’ markets around the state.

The boards come in the shape of other states, of course, as well as some European countries and even truly exotic places like Brooklyn. They are sold on etsy.com by AHeirloom, and cost $40 plus shipping.

I think they make ideal gifts for bridal showers, housewarmings, and hostess thank-yous – not to mention Mother’s Day. They must be ordered two weeks in advance. Don’t forget to specify the town or city for the cute heart cutout.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

